Foodnut Hong Kong Restaurant Reviews

Reviewer: Foodnut.com

CA

Last Update: 2018

Hong Kong Feb 2018 (114)

Foodnut travels, eats, and tells.  We’re based in San Francisco but have flown all over the place. We love Chinese food and find some of the best in Hong Kong.

We recently finished up our latest culinary tour of China in 2018. Other reviews farther down are from previous trips. Hong Kong is a world class city full of great food. Most of the Chinese food was superior to that in the San Francisco Bay Area. The service is on another level here.

  • Here are some quick mini reviews of places we ate at, so you can understand how Hong Kong food compares, and so you select the best places on your visit.
  • We have full reviews for places we deemed important enough.

Sunday Brunch Buffets: (Some of the best around)

Hong Kong Restaurant Reviews:

If a restaurant does not have a website, we link to their Openrice page.

CNN Go has a nice list of 40 Hong Kong foods we can’t live without. It is updated from time to time.

 

2018 Hong Kong Restaurant Reviews

2/21/2018

Cheung Hing Kee Shanghai Pan-fried Buns

G/F, 76 Thomson Road

Wan Chai, Hong Kong

Rated 4 – 17/3/2 on Open Rice

Pan Fried Pork Buns or Sheng Jian bao are almost like deep friend Soup Dumplings or Xiao Long Bao.  There are few places outside of Shanghai’s Yang’s Fry Dumplings that do them well.

Cheung Hing Kee Shanghai Pan Fried Buns Hong Kong (1)

Cheung Hing Lee in Hong Kong has several locations and was listed in the 2016 Michelin Guide. (No star or Bib gourmand)

We love these and had to give them a try.  These are small outlets with counter seating, not really appropriate for anything other than a snack or quick lunch.

Menu:

They have the signature Pan Fried Buns along with versions with Shrimp or Truffle and several noodles dishes.

Service:

Order and pickup.  Lots of young workers that do not seem to be very enthusiastic.

Food Picks:

Signature Pan Fried Buns (4 for HKD 30) were on the smaller side but filled to the brim with hot soup.  Nice crispy bottom.  A lot better than those in the US, but not WOW inducing like Yang’s in Shanghai.

Just OK:

None

Pans (Don’t Order):

None

 

Overall – Very Good

Food – Very Good

Decor – Good

Service – Fair

Value – Very Good

Would we come back – Maybe

===

2/21/2018

Kwan kee clay pot rice

坤記煲仔小菜

Shop 1, Wo Yick Mansion, 263 Queen’s Road West, Sai Ying Pun, Western District

Hong Kong

Bib gourmand – 3.5 171/30/18 11-1430,18-2230  2803-7209 – Shop 1, Wo Yick Mansion, 263 Queen’s Road West, Sai Ying Pun, Western District

Reservation, claypots from 6pm dinner. Cash only

Rated 3.5 171/18 on Open Rice

Our focus for our 2018 trip was to hit more local, low cost restaurants.  We have dined at many high end expensive spots, almost all were fantastic.  It was time for some cheap eats focused on specific dishes.

Kwan Kee clay pot rice Hong Kong (23)

We had never tried a real clay pot rice restaurant in Hong Kong and looked for to eating at a true local spot. Kwan Kee is a legendary claypot restaurant in the far off Western District.  There are easier to access spots in Yau Ma Tei, but nothing comes close.  This is a hard core local restaurant and not tourist orient. Exactly what we wanted.

Kwan Kee was rated bib gourmand in the Michelin Guide

The restaurant is small and reservations are needed. Clay pots are served only at dinner from 6pm on.  Expect to share a table with others. This is a hectic dining experience, not relaxing.

You begin with the traditional use tea to wash your dishes and chopsticks routine.  Ordering is a rushed affair, so be prepared.

Menu:

In addition to a wide variety of clay pots, they have a lots of stir fry dishes and other Cantonese classic.  There is English on the menu, but do not expect them to speak much.  The wall lists a bunch of specials, only in traditional Chinese.  The people next to us ordered a sweet and sour dish that looked good! Next time.

Prices are very reasonable.

Service:

Fast paced, so expect to order fast and then wait a long while for the food to appear.

Food Picks:

Chicken Claypot with Preserved Meat (HK$90) was the weakest of our clay pots, but still very good. Lots of bones on the chicken.

You pour the sweet soy sauce mixture on top, then stir it all up.  Towards the end you get the awesome crispy rice on the bottom.

White Eel Claypot (HK$100) is highly recommended.  A little chili to spice things up.  Really nice flavors.

Spare Ribs and Preserved Meat Claypot (HK$100) is also a must get.  A bit of chili heat with the preserved meats giving lots of flavor to the rice.  Included light and dark Chinese Sausage.

Choy Sum Stir Fried Vegetables in Garlic (HK$60) were cooked perfectly.  Nice and crunchy.  We could have ordered another round.

Stewed Eggplant with salted fish and Meat (HK$70) was served in a clay pot but not cooked claypot style, so it arrived fairly quickly.  Really nice eggplant although there was not much of it.

Just OK:

None

Pans (Don’t Order):

None

 

Overall – Excellent

Food – Excellent

Decor – Good

Service – Good

Value – Very Good

Would we come back – Yes

====

2/23/2018

Kam’s Roast Goose

G/F, Po Wah Commercial Center, 226 Hennessy Road,

Wan Chai

Hong Kong

Website

Rated 3 53/30 on Open Rice

Kam’s Roast Goose is a spin off of old school legendary Yuen Kee and its famed Roast Goose.  This lower cost restaurant has garnered One Michelin Star in the last 4 Hong Kong guides. Needless to say, the prices are low for a Michelin starred restaurant.

Kams Roast Goose Hong Kong (6)

They do not take reservations, so you need to line up early to get  a number when leave your party size.

The Roast Goose is excellent, while the suckling pig and bbq roast pork leave much to be desired.  We ate at 3 Michelin Star Lung King Heen for lunch before Kam’s and found their Roast Goose, Suckling Pig, and Chicken even better. Of course this is comparing apples to oranges.

Remember Cash only!!

Menu:

The menu focuses on many Chinese BBQ meats, but does have lots of other dishes including noodle dishes.

Service:

From waiting in line outside to ordering inside, they push you along.  Do not expected a fine relaxing meal here.

Food Picks:

Roast Goose (HK$540 whole, HK$280 half) – This is why the place is on the map.  A must order.  Juice and great flavor.  The whole goose is good enough for 4-5 people.  Goose has more flavor than the duck we have in the US.

Prince Kinsen Noodles (HK$37) – Is there a place that does not make great noodles in Hong Kong?  Nice thin egg noodles with really robust broth.  This is cheap and a must get.

Choi Sum (HK$33) – The simple veggies are done well here.

Just OK:

BBQ Pork Belly Fatty Char Siu (HK$155) had lots of honey drizzled on it. Sloppy thick slices and just average quality.  HK has some killer char siu elsewhere.

Pans (Don’t Order):

Roast Suckling Pig (HK$165) – While the skin was good, the meat was pretty dry.  We had an incredible version in Lung King Heen, a couple hours earlier.

Overall – Very Good

Food – Very Good

Decor – Good

Service – Fair

Value – Very Good

Would we come back – Yes

======

2/24/2018

Seventh Son Restaurant

5-6/F., Kwan Chart Tower

6 Tonnochy Road, Wan Chai

28922888

Rated 3.5 6/5 on Open Rice

Seventh Son is renowned chef Chiu Wai-kwan’s new restaurant, created to compete with his elder brother at Fook Lam Moon, the legendary Hong Kong restaurant famously frequented by  celebrities and tycoons. They have several locations in China and other countries.

This restaurant serves old-school Cantonese food (similar to Fook Lam Moon) with some modern dishes. We dined during Chinese New Year and ordered a couple special dishes.

Seventh Son Hong Kong (1)

Decor was typical high end Hong Kong Chinese restaurant with private rooms, clean bathrooms, etc.

Food quality was just very good, with prices on the higher side.  We expected better food at lower prices.  Lung King Heen was more expensive but brought far more refinement.

Menu:

The lunch dim sum menu was completely in Chinese, while the normal menu had English.

Service:

Seventh Son had lots of servers, leading to above average service.  No worries on refills and the like.

Food Picks:

Har Gow Shrimp Dumplings (HK$70) where good but could have been better.  No wow shrimp flavor blast like Lung King Heen.

Deep Fried chive dumplings (HK$70) – A dish not seen in the US.  Crispy shell with nice veggie accent in the middle.

Pan fried Turnip cakes (HK$70) were decent with a lite texture and good lo back flavor.

Glutinous rice in lotus leaf (3) (HK$70) were better than average.

Char Siu BBQ Pork (HK$180) was very good. Far better than the one we had at Kam’s Roast Goose the day before.

Roasted Pig (HK$180) is the classic style you see in the US.  This one was very fatty with nice crispy skin.

Deep fried pork dumplings (HK$70) were excellent.  Not big, freshly fried and nicely balanced.

Sweet Almond cream dessert (HK$65) was good and balanced.

Chilled Mango pudding (HK$65) was pretty thick and reasonable dessert.

Rice Porridge was long boiled and ready for some salt or other ingredients.

Just OK:

Shrimp rice noodle rolls (HK$75) was a bit lack luster.  Nothing special about this dish.  They could use thinner noodles and better shrimp

Char siu bone (HK$180) in was not as good a the regular Char siu, order that dish instead.

Pans (Don’t Order):

Chinese New Year Special dishes with fish paste topped with fat chow (seaweed), oysters, beef tongue (HK$70) – We were pushed to order these dishes that were not very good.

Egg Tarts (HK$55) were 3 smaller ones but not great.  The ones we had on the street from Tai Cheong and other places were far better.

Overall – Very Good

Food – Very Good

Decor – Very Good

Service – Very Good

Value – Good

Would we come back – No

====

2/24/2018

Islam Food

清真牛肉館 

1 Lung Kong Road, Kowloon City

Hong Kong

23822822

Website

Rated 3.5 on 464/82 on Open Rice

A local place that serves Halal compliant food in Kowloon City.  Known and popular to mostly locals, a friend brought us there. Recommend by our friend.

It is a small restaurant, so expect to share a table with someone else.

This is one of those local non-touristy gems that we love to find on our travels.

A block away is this nice dessert place to finish your meal:

Hang Heong Un

Rated 3.5 14/4 on Openrice

Menu:

Very short concise menu with few options for vegetarians.

Service:

The service was quick and efficient, with food coming very fast.

Food Picks:

Beef Patty pancakes are the hot ticket here.  Filled with juice, they are tender and perfectly cooked.

Curry Beef Brisket was a good sized dish full of fairly spicy long marinated meat.

Shredded chicken with bean vermicelli noodles has a balance of soft slick jello and chicken.  Bathed in a peanut sauce.

Just OK:

None

Pans (Don’t Order):

None

Overall – Very Good

Food – Very Good

Decor – Good

Service – Good

Value – Very Good

Would we come back – Yes

2/25/2018

Maxim’s Jade Garden (HK Airport)

美心.

Level 8, Departures Check-in Hall Mezzanine, Terminal 1, Hong Kong International Airport, Chek Lap Kok, Hong Kong, China

2186-6068

Open rice rated 2.5 2/12

One last Cantonese Chinese meal at the airport.  Maxim’s is one of the higher end options, located up high on the 8th floor of Terminal 1 before security. This restaurant group founded in 1971 operates over 50 locations, from bakeries to restaurants.

They have some un-consumer like policies like HK$1 for a bag or to-go box.  Maxim’s Jade Garden even automatically charge you for peanuts unless you say no right after you sit down.

Go here if you missing some dishes in Hong Kong and just need to get it. This was suckling pig in our case.

Menu:

Very wide ranging menu of Chinese Cantonese food. Everything from stir fry dishes to BBQ items to Soups and desserts.

Service:

They realize everyone is in a rush, so they try to take orders fast, but you need to hail them for everything from the bill to to-go containers. 10% service fee added. Pretty anal.

Maxim Jade Garden Food Picks:

Peanuts with dried fish (HK$16) is forcefully sold to all tables. They actually taste pretty good tought.

Tea – Hot water fee (HK$15) per person is also draconianly sold to all. Bring your own water bottle!

BBQ Platter 3 ways (HK$188) – Crispy BBQ Suckling pig was good but sloppily still had bones on the bottom. Roast goose had good flavor but dry meat. You had to eat it with the skin to get acceptable response. The char siu was the least success of the three. All in all, average to slightly below average for Hong Kong, but probably better than most US spots. We had some of this dish as leftovers and found it even better, given the time for flavor to soak in.

Choi Sum (HK$88) with garlic was done just fine.

Double boiled Chicken and wolfberry soup in purple clay pot (HK$55) came out last, talk about poor timing. This dish arrives in a small tea pot and had some intense chicken flavor. As a double boiled soup, this should have taken a long time to prepare.

Just OK:

None

Pans (Don’t Order):

None

Overall – Very Good

Food – Very Good

Decor – Good

Service – Good

Value – Fair

Would we come back – Maybe

======

2/24/2018

Cong Sao Star Dessert

G/F, 21-23 Tai Wong Street East, Wan Chai

Hong Kong

7 locations

Rated 4 41/3 on Open Rice

A popular dessert spot with many convenient locations. No need to make a special trip! Cong Sao Star is really popular, so expect a wait during peak times, evenings – weekends.

Menu:

Extensive menu of desserts from hot ones to cold ones. Ice cream to tong sui. (Sweet soup) Most are Asian, but very accessible to Western palettes. Yes, there are a couple hard core desserts like tofu and grass jelly. English on the menu.

Service:

Reasonable service, nothing spectacular.

Food Picks:

Mango sago (HK$45) with ice cream was a pretty large dessert with lots of real mango. Not too sweet.

Durian dumplings (HK$45) is not for the faint of heart. If you love durian, you have to come here and order it. Excellent dish.

Just OK:

None

Pans (Don’t Order):

None

Overall – Very Good

Food – Very Good

Decor – Very Good

Service – Good

Value – Excellent

Would we come back – Yes

2011 Hong Kong Reviews

Tao Heung – 稻香

Tao Heung Hong Kong 8

An unexpected quality dim sum restaurant with bargain prices (HK$6.80, $9.80, $12.80, and $15.80 per dish) near our hotel in Wanchai. This location is also upstairs from excellent Lei Garden restaurant. We had eaten at the Tsim Tsai Tsui branch last year and found this one was full of locals. It is one of the few that opens early at 7am and even gives a discount on dim sum before 11:30am on Monday through Saturday. (Must check out by 12:30pm) Prices drop to this level also between 2 and 4 PM.
Only rated 3.3 on Openrice, but good enough for us in the crowd of people eating there. Multiple locations.

Tao Heung Hong Kong 7

Tao Heung Hong Kong 1

Hits: Har gow, Chiu Chou dumplings, sesame balls, Empress Chicken congee, Eggplant with fish cake, pork buns, sugarcane juice, Lotus wrapped glutinous rice.

Overall rating (Stars) – 2.5
Food Rating – 2.5
Service Rating – 1.5
Atmosphere Rating – 2.5
Value – 4
Guide: 0 = poor, 1 = Fair/Average, 2 = Good, 2.5 = Very Good, 3 = Excellent , 4 = Extraordinary

Come Back – Yes

Tao Heung
2/F, CNT Tower, 338 Hennessy road
Wan Chai, Hong Kong
2838 3097
OpenRice – 3.3

Fu Sing – 富聲魚翅海鮮酒家

Fu Sing Hong Kong roasted pork

A Michelin guide bib gourmand rated restaurant that we visited lunch. Food is solid but not awe-inspiring, several dishes like the roasted pork left a positive impression. Definitely below the level of Michelin one star restaurants.

Fu Sing Hong Kong Baked char siu bao

Hits: Har gow (HK$29), baked char siu bao (HK$29), roasted pork (HK$78).

Overall rating (Stars) – 2.5
Food Rating – 3
Service Rating – 2
Atmosphere Rating – 3
Value – 2
Guide: 0 = poor, 1 = Fair/Average, 2 = Good, 2.5 = Very Good, 3 = Excellent , 4 = Extraordinary

Come Back – Maybe

Fu Sing
1/F, Sunshine Plaza, No. 353 Lockhart Road
Wan Chai, Hong Kong
2893 0881
OpenRice – 3.7

Fat Mama’s dessert – 肥媽甜品店

A family run dessert place that serves up excellent Hong Kong style desserts. They stay open late.

Fat Mama Dessert Hong Kong 5

Hits: Mango with grass jelly in condensed milk (HK$22), lychee, Sago in coconut milk (HK$25).

Overall rating (Stars) – 2.5
Food Rating – 2.5
Service Rating – 2
Atmosphere Rating – 2
Value – 2
Guide: 0 = poor, 1 = Fair/Average, 2 = Good, 2.5 = Very Good, 3 = Excellent , 4 = Extraordinary

Come Back – Yes

Fat Mama’s dessert
ShopA,G/F,117 Thomson Road, Wan Chai
Wan Chai, Hong Kong

OpenRice – 3.9

Luk Yu Tea House – 陸羽茶室

Luk Yu Tea House Hong Kong 5

A really old school restaurant that first opened in 1933. We had an adventure here, not just with the old-school food and servers, retro decor, but with the smelly sewage leak outside! The food is okay, most people don’t come here for the food.

Luk Yu Tea House Hong Kong 15

Hits: Egg custard tart, shrimp dumplings

Overall rating (Stars) – 2.5
Food Rating – 2.5
Service Rating – 2
Atmosphere Rating – 3
Value – 1.5
Guide: 0 = poor, 1 = Fair/Average, 2 = Good, 2.5 = Very Good, 3 = Excellent , 4 = Extraordinary

Come Back – No

Luk Yu Tea House
G/F-3/F, 24 Stanley Street,
Central, Hong Kong
2523 5464
OpenRice – 3.9

Maxim’s Chinese Restaurant – 美心閣

The search continued for a decent place to eat in the Hong Kong airport. This restaurant had amazing Shanghai Steamed Dumplings that were actually being carted around and offered to patrons. We expected them to be soggy, but you never know… Overall, the place is expensive, while quality is only okay.

IMG_1282

Hits: Shanghai steamed dumplings, deep fried pork dumplings (HK$21), sesame balls, chicken porridge (HK$55)

Overall rating (Stars) – 2.5
Food Rating – 2.5
Service Rating – 2
Atmosphere Rating – 2.5
Value – 2
Guide: 0 = poor, 1 = Fair/Average, 2 = Good, 2.5 = Very Good, 3 = Excellent , 4 = Extraordinary

Come Back – Maybe

Maxim’s Chinese Restaurant
Level 8, Departures Check-in Hall Mezzanine, Terminal 1
Hong Kong International Airport, Chek Lap Kok
2186 6068
OpenRice – 3.1

2010 Hong Kong Reviews

Manor Sea Food Restaurant – 富瑤酒家

Highly rated with a 4.1 on Openrice and recommended by fellow food bloggers, this seafood restaurant created high expectations but failed to deliver. They even charged us for their peanuts!

Manor Seafood Hong Kong Gold Coin Chicken

Manor Seafood Hong Kong Salt Pepper Mantis Prawn

Hits: Panfried shrimp, stir fried noodles, Choy sum

Overall rating (Stars) – 2.5

Food Rating – 2.5

Service Rating – 2.5

Atmosphere Rating – 2

Value – 2

Guide: 0 = poor, 1 = Fair/Average, 2 = Good, 2.5 = Very Good, 3 = Excellent , 4 = Extraordinary

Come Back – No

Manor Sea Food Restaurant

Shop F-G, 440 Jaffe Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong

2836 9999

OpenRice

Hoi King Heen – 海景軒

Very Highly rated with a 4.2 on Openrice, and located downstairs In the Intercontinental Grand Stanford, Hoi King Heen serves up top notch Cantonese Chinese food for dinner. One Michelin star in 2011.

Hoi King Heen Hong Kong Beggars Chicken

Beggar’s Chicken

Hoi King Heen Hong Kong Braised short ribs with papaya

Hits: BBQ combo plate, Braised short ribs with papaya, beggars chicken, Hung Siu tofu.

Overall rating (Stars) – 3.5

Food Rating – 3.5

Service Rating – 3

Atmosphere Rating – 3

Value – 2.5

Guide: 0 = poor, 1 = Fair/Average, 2 = Good, 2.5 = Very Good, 3 = Excellent , 4 = Extraordinary

Come Back – Yes

Hoi King Heen

B2, InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong, 70 Mody Road,

Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong

2731 2883

OpenRice

Tao Heung – 稻香

An unexpected high quality dim sum restaurant with bargain prices (HK$6.80, $9.80, $12.80, and $15.80 per dish) near our hotel in Tsim Sha Tsui. It was recommended by the doorman and was full of locals. It is one of the few that opens early at 7:30am and even gives a discount on dim sum before 11:30am. (Check out by 12:30pm)

Only rated 3.3 on Openrice, but good enough for us. Multiple locations.

Tao Square Hong Kong Sesame Balls

Tao Square Hong Kong Chicken Congee

Hits: Har gow, sesame balls, Chicken congee, pork buns, sugarcane juice, Lotus wrapped glutinous rice.

Overall rating (Stars) – 2.5

Food Rating – 2.5

Service Rating – 1.5

Atmosphere Rating – 2.5

Value – 4

Guide: 0 = poor, 1 = Fair/Average, 2 = Good, 2.5 = Very Good, 3 = Excellent , 4 = Extraordinary

Come Back – Yes

Tao Heung

3/F, Carnarvon Plaza, 20-20C Carnavon Road

Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong

2367 1328

OpenRice

Sugar Dessert House – 甜品屋

We are big dessert fans and are always looking to satisfy our sweet tooth. Sugar is a tiny, hidden away place that satisfied our cravings.

Sugar Hong Kong Chocolate Waffle

Sugar Hong Kong Red Bean Shaved ice

Hits: Waffles, shaved ice, red bean ice.

Overall rating (Stars) – 2

Food Rating – 2.5

Service Rating – 1.5

Atmosphere Rating – 1.5

Value – 2

Guide: 0 = poor, 1 = Fair/Average, 2 = Good, 2.5 = Very Good, 3 = Excellent , 4 = Extraordinary

Come Back – Maybe

Sugar Dessert House

Shop G2, G/F, Delite Mansion, 3 Granville Circuit

Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong

2739 9959

OpenRice

Hang Fa Lau Dessert – 杏花樓甜品

This restaurant is conveniently located and has some excellent desserts. We tried the breakfast here and found it cheap but pretty marginal.

Hang Fa Lau Hong Kong Milk Pudding

Hits: Double skim milk pudding, Hawthorne Berry almond milk, mango grass jelly, mango grapefruit and Sago

Overall rating (Stars) – 2

Food Rating – 2

Service Rating – 2

Atmosphere Rating – 1.5

Value – 3

Guide: 0 = poor, 1 = Fair/Average, 2 = Good, 2.5 = Very Good, 3 = Excellent , 4 = Extraordinary

Come Back – Yes for dessert

Hang Fa Lau Dessert

Shop A, G/F, 9 Lock Road,

Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong

2366 4720

OpenRice

Chao Inn – 潮樓

We needed a place for dinner at the airport and found this place, open late, and upstairs in terminal two. Food is average at best. Go to Maxim or Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao instead. Beware that they have other locations in Hong Kong.

Hits: lobster with emein special.

Overall rating (Stars) – 2

Food Rating – 2

Service Rating – 2

Atmosphere Rating – 2.5

Value – 2

Guide: 0 = poor, 1 = Fair/Average, 2 = Good, 2.5 = Very Good, 3 = Excellent , 4 = Extraordinary

Come Back – No

Chao Inn

Unit No.6P033, Passenger Terminal 2

Hong Kong International Airport., Chek Lap Kok

3197 9098

OpenRice

Overall Rating: (Good 2)

Come Back?

Food Rating: (Good)
Service Rating: (Good)
Atmosphere Rating: (Good)
Value Rating: (Good)

Guide: 0 = poor, 1 = Below/Average, 2 = Good, 2.5 = Very Good, 3 = Excellent , 4 = Extraordinary

Alcohol:Beer, Wine
Attire:Casual
Parking:Street
Reservations:Yes

You Might Also Like

No Comments

    Leave a Reply

    Subscribe to the Free Foodnut Newsletter